Talking the Talk and Walking the Wak


(originally posted on chrisnorbury.com)

Most of you know that I am a volunteer Big Brother and a huge supporter of the program. I’ve been matched with two Little Brothers during almost all that time. I took about a year off after my first match ended after more than 11 years (Zach “graduated” from the program–meaning he turned 18 and/or graduated from high school.)

Now I’m matched with Ethan, a bubbly, energetic, charming 9-year-old who is full of enthusiasm and energy. We’re into our 4th year together. I always tell people how great the Big Brothers Big Sisters program is when it comes up in conversation. Recently, my local BBBS organization asked me to record a short public service announcement for them to use on their Facebook page and other media. It focuses on the dire need BBBS has for MALE volunteers. We always have a waiting list of children hoping to be matched with a Big. The large majority of those kids are boys who need a Big Brother.

I’ve Walked the BBBS Walk for 16-plus years, and now here’s my first major “Talk the Talk.”

[embedyt] http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3ELXhOs-Zo%5B/embedyt%5D

YOUR CHANCE TO HELP BBBS

The reason I posted that video here is to remind you that another way I try to talk the talk is to donate $1.00 to BBBS of Southern Minnesota for each copy I sell of Castle Danger.

revised-cover_front_highres

So if my short video touches your heart in any way, please buy a copy of Castle Danger for you or for someone as a gift, tell your friends and family to buy a copy, donate to your local BBBS organization, or do the ultimate and volunteer to become a Big Brother or a Big Sister. It only takes a few hours per month of your time. The benefits for the children helped by BBBS are boundless. The rewards to you as a Big are ten times greater than the time and effort you give to your Little.

Thanks for reading and watching.

One response to “Talking the Talk and Walking the Wak

Leave a Reply

